The BPN website provides a messaging system that allows subscribers to send private messages directly to other subscribers without revealing their names and email addresses.
- Sending a message
- Receiving a message
- Replying to a message
- Can I view my messages on the BPN website?
- Are messages private?
- Can I opt out of messaging?
BPN subscribers who are logged in to the website can click on the username at the end of a post to send a private message to the post's author. This include current posts in one of the listings, as well as Parent Q&A from past discussions that appear on the website. When you click a username, you'll be taken to the author's "personal contact form." Fill it out, click "Send message" and the BPN website will forward your message to the email address on file for that subscriber. Your email address and your username (not your real name) will be displayed on the message.
There are two situations where you cannot send a message to the original poster: 1) Subscribers can choose to hide their username when they post to Parent Q&A. In this case, their post is anonymous, their username is not displayed, and you cannot message them. 2) Subscribers can disable their personal contact form on their account page. In this case, their username is displayed on their post but it is not clickable, so they cannot be contacted via messaging.
When you receive an email from another subscriber who messaged you on BPN, you will be able to see their username and email address. They cannot see yours, though. They can see your username only.
You can either reply directly to a message using your own email account's Reply button, or your can reply using the sender's personal contact form, which hides your email address. You'll see a link to their contact form on the message - click that to go to their personal contact form on BPN's website. If you reply directly from your own email account, the recipient will be able to see your email address.
No, messages are not saved on the BPN website because they are sent from the personal contact form directly to the recipient's personal email account. But you can email yourself a copy of your message by checking "Send yourself a copy" on messages you send.
Messages sent on BPN can only be viewed by the sender, the recipient, and the BPN administrator. If you reply to a message directly, or send a message by clicking the username on a post, the recipient will be able to see your email address in addition to your username. Note that BPN administrators do have access to all messages sent on the BPN website.
Yes. If you don't want to ever be contacted by other subscribers, you can disable the Personal contact form option on your account page (see How to edit your account.) Caution!! If you disable your personal contact form, you will not be able to post on Marketplace, Childcare, Announcements, or Events, since a contact username is required on these posts.