Bilingual Science/Math/Spanish Tutor available for full school year

Academic Tutoring Online, Languages, Music & Arts & Sports Online, In-Home Support for Middle/High School, Homework Coaching, Organizational & Study Skills, Algebra, Calculus, General Science, Geometry, Physics, Spanish, Soccer

I am a PhD student in Earth Sciences (BSc in Geology) and have 10+ years of experience as a tutor for high school, elementary school, and college students. I have a strong math and physics background, am bilingual in Spanish and English, and I teach conversational Spanish (my first language). As an undergrad and PhD student I have been a TA in several subjects. I am the kind of teacher who helps students build their own studying habits and learning pathways that will remain well beyond the teaching period.

Since 2010, I have helped students gain confidence in math and science classes. My approach is always interactive and combines theory with practice. I use concrete, real-world examples when applicable. I believe in processing together with my students and am a fan of having them explain what we are learning back to me. I am very observant, patient, and adept at recognizing a student's challenges. I work well one-on-one and also enjoy teaching groups of young people. 

I am also an outdoor enthusiast: I love hiking, wildlife, backpacking, and photography. I am an avid mountain biker, guitarist and recreational soccer player.

I have a flexible schedule and I am open to being part of a pod. My mother-in-law is an epidemiologist at UCSF and we have been following strict precautions to keep our own pod healthy.

I charge $50/hour.

Region Served: 
East Bay
Ages: 
Middle school, High school
Contact
Sebastián Herrera
sebaherreraescobar [at] gmail.com
5107178845